Book Review: The Last Revenge by Nathaniel Danes

After the death of his daughter and learning the true enemy of the war, Trent joins the battle again, this time with his new friend Hido, as well as the remaining members of the 1st Legion. Things get pretty complicated as politics get in the way of fighting the Kitright, and Amanda joins in on Trent’s need for revenge. But even now, things are not always as they seem. Battle after battle slowly satisfies Trent’s bloodlust and he starts wondering why the Kitright armies keep killing off their own people, and who is really the true enemy here?

This is the sequel to The Last Hero, and it is just as good. I don’t know what it is about Danes’ writing, honestly, but it just seriously pulls me in and doesn’t let me go. I mean, Trent’s character is awesome. I’m glad to see more a human side to him in this book. In the first he had a huge lust for blood that felt a little disturbing. He did in this book as well, but there was also a lot of humanity in him as well. Maybe we see it more because all of his emotional connections are fighting with him instead of growing old on Earth. I’m glad that there’s still a connection to his family with Susan, Trent’s great granddaughter who joined the Legion as well. She’s pretty cool, and I hope that they do grow closer than the tenuous relationship they have right now.

Again, the deaths scene in this book are fantastic. I know that’s a very strange thing to say, but it’s so true. It’s so easy to get choked up in these books, and again, I think it’s because Nathaniel Danes is a fantastic writer. It’s really easy to get attached and almost start crying for characters you might not even know that well in their last few moments of life. And I love how this book shows you the horror and emotional drain of war than the glories. Sure, there’s plenty of camaraderie in the 1st, and I love the old CIA guys a whole hell of a lot, but even Trent is feeling the toll of the war, even though his entire being yearns to be a soldier, and even did during peace time.

What I want more later in the series: well, I really want Jones to get a significant lover. I love her a lot and I want her to be happy and not lonely. I definitely want to see more of Frost and the CIA, and I want to know what’s up with Dalton. I hope we see more of Susan as well, instead of Trent unintentionally cutting off the rest of his family because of near warp speed.

Fans of The Last Hero will not be disappointed with this sequel and I highly recommend that they read it.

Leave a Reply

