I #SupportWNDB – The Series: Being A Better Writer Means Being Diverse

Madhuri Writes

SupportWNDB


How Diversity Makes You A Better Writer

Christa Wojo

How Diversity Makes You a Better Writer

Living in Panama for nearly a decade, I’ve learned what it feels like to be isolated from the rest of society. Now I’m more or less at home and speak Spanish well, but when I first moved here and didn’t know the language. People stared at me, a tall blue-eyed blond girl, like I was a Sasquatch. I was a minority in a world of Salsa and juega vivo. I was gringa.

I hid in the house and watched CSI reruns because that was the only show on in English. I remember one time I was listening to the radio while waiting for my husband in the car, and in the midst of reggaeton and obnoxious screaming DJ, a song by The Strokes came on. I think I almost cried. I felt like I…

View original post 1,008 more words

Leave a Reply

