Teaser Tuesdays: The Closers

   Teaser Tuesdays is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can participate. For the official rules, see here. Among other things, this week I’m reading The Closers by Michael Connelly. I’ve been reading this off and on for the past couple of months when I get a chance, and I still think Connelly is a great writer, even though it’s only the second book of his that I’ve read (the first being The Lincoln Lawyer).

And now for the tease:

“I am just dragging a net. I’m collecting as much information as I can because you never know what might become important.”

“Yeah, well, that net got snagged and ripped on the rocks a long time ago.” (The Closers, pg 196)

 

http://www.indiebound.org/book/

10 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays: The Closers

  1. I love this series! I’ve been reading the Harry Bosch ones in order and this one is the next one up for me.

    Mine this week is non-fiction. Letters from Africa 1914 – 1931 by Isak Dinesen (Karen Blixen) at http://wp.me/pZnGI-9x

    • karaskinner says:

      This is the first Harry Bosch book I’ve read, but so far I love it. I didn’t know it was in the middle of a series, though. I thought it was the first one. It works well even as a stand-alone though.

      • They probably do all work well as a stand alone, but there is a ton of character development in this series and major life changes too. The Closers is #11 in the Harry Bosch series. A couple of the Mickey Haller books are also Harry Bosch ones. I plan to read The Lincoln Lawyer after The Closers. A few summers ago on a camping trip, someone loaned me The Last Coyote (#4) and I loved it. I think the other camper also advised me to try and read them in order.

      • karaskinner says:

        Yeah I definitely prefer to read them in order. I’ll have to hunt down the other books. 🙂

  2. I’ve heard good things about the Harry Bosch series but haven’t read any of the books. Sounds like I need to do that and start at #1!
    My Teaser Tuesday excerpt is from HEARTS IN RUIN.

  3. Love the teaser, what a great metaphor. Glad you are enjoying your read. Here is my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/teaser-tuesday-july-15/

  4. A very interesting interview with Michael Connelly. He talks about how he first became interested in crime, what he read and how he wanted to write. He goes on to talk about Harry Bosch and how he has been writing about this character for twenty years. Great stuff!
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mark-rubinstein/a-talk-with-michael-conne_b_5586205.html?utm_hp_ref=tw

Leave a Reply

