I Am Malala– A Book Everyone Should Read

I Am Malala is the true story of a teenage advocate for education. She was shot by the Taliban because she believed everyone should have the right to education, and not just men. Now she and her family live in Birmingham, England where they continue to fight for education and wait until they can go back to their home in Pakistan.

This is an outstanding book. There is no other way to say it. Malala is a fantastic writer with a powerful message and story. As I was reading, I realized I’m pretty ignorant myself. I was surprised by how normal she and her friends are, despite the violence in their neighborhood. She likes the TV show Ugly Betty and has read Twilight. Also, Malala shows that Islam is a peaceful religion although many have twisted the philosophies. I loved the book, and it might be the best book I’ve read all year. I think this is a book that everyone should read.

Here’s a link to the book as well as to the Malala Fund, a fund set up to raise money for girls’ and womens’ education.

The Malala Fund:

http://malalafund.org/

I Am Malala:

<a href=”http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780316322409?aff=KaraSkinner”>http://www.indiebound.org/book/</a&gt;

7 thoughts on “I Am Malala– A Book Everyone Should Read

  1. Ermilia says:

    I’m part of the way through the book so far. I too was touched and surprised by how “normal” Malala and her friends come off, but also intrigued by the diverse love she had for books. She’s read Twilight, Oliver Twist, and The Alchemist. In one passage, where someone is telling her how much help they’ve already been given (help with electricity etc.), I could not help but think, “Stop giving men fish and educate girls so that they can provide for their country.”

    -Eliabeth

    • karaskinner says:

      I also thought it was cool that she has a diverse love of books. I thought that showed how smart she is, because she keeps an open mind, and doesn’t limit herself to one or two genres. Throughout the book I kept getting impressed by how mature and smart she is. I’m glad you like the book, it’s definitely one of my favorites.

      • Ermilia says:

        I just hit the part where she thought she was going back to school after being shot, so she asks her father to bring her school books. Now that is dedication. I would have been like “keep me out of that backwards country.”

      • karaskinner says:

        I’m not sure I would think that. After all, that is where she grew up, and she considers it her home. I actually grew up in Maine, in a part where some would consider as a backwards country, but I’ve never been able to see it that way, not even after moving to the city. I agree about her dedication, though. If I was in the hospital, I’m not sure I would have enough motivation to study.

      • Ermilia says:

        Ad a Texan who returned to Texas, I understand pride for your homeland, but no one shot me. It’s part of Maslow’s heriarchy. I wouldn’t think school is a priority when you don’t fulfill the safety requiement.

      • karaskinner says:

        I’ve never been shot at either, but I knew a girl who was murdered after being missing for three days, and one of step-sister’s friends was shot and killed. Also, in the country where a teenager can get murdered for wearing a hood in the wrong neighborhood and then let the murderer go free, I honestly don’t know if we can say the USA is better than Pakistan, really, or if we just try to convince ourselves that we are. And how do you propose they should fix the safety requirement? Or maybe they should just obey. Keep in mind, those girls on that bus are probably a thousand times smarter than us, and they were well aware of the danger of going to school, and yet they did anyway. And Malala knew probably better than any of them because of the threats her family had received.

      • Ermilia says:

        That’s true. I would say move if you can, in response to how to fix the safety.) I don’t want to live somewhere that an accidental fashion decision could lead to my death. However, I also recognize that picking up and leaving is often not an option. I think Malala was on the right track regarding education. It was not lost on me that the people claiming to uphold Islam were the least informed about it.

Leave a Reply

