Hijack in Abstract: Interview with Larissa Reinhart

hijack button (2)It all started with a late night call from her uncle for a wanted criminal sketch of a hijacker. It wasn’t long, however, before things got really complicated for Cherry Tucker. First she has to deal with her arch nemesis trying to turn the town against her with some nude paintings she had made. (Luckily her ex-husband, the model in the painting, didn’t mind copies of this painting being put all over town). Then the man who gave her the description of the hijacker ends up dead, with his mother and son depending on him. Now she has to get the town to respect (or at least tolerate) her and solve the hijacking case.

This was definitely one of the best books I’ve read this month. It’s fast-paced, hilarious, and intriguing. I love Cherry’s attitude and the situations she finds herself in.  I’d recommend this book to any mystery lover.

Now here’s an interview with Larissa Reinhart. Thanks, Larissa!

larissa reinhart (2)

Growing up in a small town, Larissa Reinhart couldn’t wait to move to an exotic city far from corn fields. After moving around the US and Japan, now she loves to write about rough hewn characters that live near corn fields, particularly sassy women with a penchant for trouble. HIJACK IN ABSTRACT is the third in the Cherry Tucker Mystery Series from Henery Press, following STILL LIFE IN BRUNSWICK STEW (May 2013) and PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY, a 2012 Daphne du Maurier finalist. QUICK SKETCH, a Cherry Tucker prequel to PORTRAIT, is in the mystery anthology THE HEARTACHE MOTEL (December 2013). She lives near Atlanta with her minions and Cairn Terrier, Biscuit. Visit her websitelarissareinhart.com or find her chatting with the Little Read Hens on Facebook.

What got you interested in writing?

Thanks so much for having me on Ink and Paper! I’m so thrilled to be here.

I’ve always been interested in writing and can’t remember when I didn’t cobble stories. However, there’s a twenty year gap in my creative writing phase that began when I graduated from college and ended about four years ago when I started writing stories again. During those twenty years, I mainly wrote lesson plans, newsletters, and sample essays. I snuck in an occasional poem for my amusement, but had pretty much given writing up as a creative pursuit. However, during those twenty years I read intensively. All genres of fiction. And that’s what helped me when I finally had that perfect storm of time/space/writing epiphany.

What’s your usual writing routine like?

I have elementary aged children, so I get them to school by 7:30 a.m. and I try to write until I pick them up at 2:30. After 2:30, I’m helping with homework, driving them to activities, and after dinner, I collapse. On the weekends, I also try to focus on my family and stay off the computer. Facebook is my downfall during my writing period, so when I’m on deadline I have to turn off my internet connection.

What are your favorite and least favorite parts of writing?

I love beginning a story. There’s so much potential, like starting a new school year with interesting classes and fresh supplies. I feel sucked into this creative pulse that drives me to write. But everything slows in the middle, and sometimes I feel like I’m wandering around in a fog. The characters don’t always act like I think they should, and I’ll follow their rabbit trails to see if they work, which sometimes means retracing my steps and starting over. That can get frustrating. I get consumed by the story in the middle. But when everything starts to fall into place, it’s exhilarating again and I tend to write the ending quickly. And then I begin the revision process. Which can be both frustrating and fun, too.

If you could have a dinner party with six famous people who have influenced you in some way, who would they be?

First, let’s determine that this deal is catered. I’m not inviting famous people to eat my cooking. Too much pressure. I’d probably invite my childhood literary idols, C.S. Lewis and Madeline L’Engle. If my old library still has those copies, my fingerprints are probably permanently imbeded in a Wrinkle In Time and The Dawntreader.

Next, Mae West. I wanted to be Mae West and never succeeded, but an imprint of her lives on in my female characters. I watched a lot of old movies as a kid.

Lorne Michaels, since Saturday Night Live honed my sense of humor over the years. Which shows you what I was doing on Saturday nights.

The creator of Square Pegs (am dating myself), who taught me to revel in my nerdiness.

And lastly, whoever came up with spellcheck, because I owe that person a major debt of gratitude. I probably owe that dude more than dinner.

Do you have a favorite secondary character in Hijack?

I can’t pick a favorite from my regular cast (one of their feelings would get hurt), but I had a side character in Hijack named Zach whom I loved. He’s lives in a cowboy hat and toothpick and hangs out a trucker bar called The Gearjammer. He’s younger than Cherry and likes to think himself a Don Juan. Once he gets his trucker license, he’ll probably have a girl at every truck stop. He was fun to write and grew into a bigger character than I originally thought. That seems to happen with these incidental characters.

What was your favorite scene to write?

I loved The Gearjammer scenes. It’s a rough bar with interesting characters and great place to build action scenes.

If you could put Cherry in a fight- either a debate or an all-out brawl- with another fictional character, who would you match her up against?

Cherry’s more likely to brawl than debate, so let’s put her in a cage match with Mrs. Danvers fromRebecca. Cherry’d enjoy taking Danvers down.

Your prequel to the Cherry Tucker series is coming out early December in the anthology The Heartache Motel. Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I wrote Heartache Motel with Terri L. Austin and LynDee Walker. We had so much fun taking our characters to Memphis and creating this  seedy motel for them to stay in. In all the stories, there are drag queens, Elvis impersonators, crimes, and a little heartache. And, of course, our series’ characters. Rose Strickland is with her Diner crew tracking down a murderer and thieves. Nichelle Clarke’s Graceland stopover turns into a big heist story for the reporter. And Todd and Cherry’s caper is a prequel to Portrait of a Dead Guy. They’re on their way to Vegas (haven’t gotten hitched and annulled yet), and make a stop at the Heartache to help Todd’s cousin who’s gotten scammed in a dirty poker game. Lots of mischeif and mayhem. Plenty of hijinx, too. And at Christmas!

You’ve traveled all over the world, to Japan, Thailand, and China. What’s your most memorable experience?

China is where we adopted our daughters, so those were particularly special trips. We had two completely different experiences, too. Which makes sense since our daughters are completely different. Imagine  Oscar and Felix as babies. But much cuter. Both trips began in Beijing and ended in Guangzhou and Hong Kong. We took the girls to Hong Kong when we were living in Japan, but I hope we can take them to China to see their birth country someday. They love to travel as much as their mom and dad.

Describe your perfect day. 

A day where I get to eat anything I want and my jeans don’t feel tight.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about writing. Usually while I’m driving my children to activities and doing laundry. Total lifestyles of the rich and famous. In my head.

Thanks, again, Larissa! It’s a pleasure to have you on Ink and Paper.

Connect with Larissa!

Website: larissareinhart.com

Blog: larissareinhart.blogspot.com

Facebook page: facebook.com/RisWrites

Goodreads author page: goodreads.com/author/show/5806614.Larissa_Reinhart

Twitter: twitter.com/RisWrites

Publisher: henerypress.com

https://www.facebook.com/LittleReadHens

Amazon: amazon.com/author/larissareinhart

email: reinhartlarissa@gmail.com

HIJACK IN ABSTRACT:

Amazon Paperback   B&N Paperback

HEARTACHE MOTEL:

Amazon Kindle          B&N Nook      Kobo

Amazon Paperback   B&N Paperback

PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY:

Amazon Kindle     B&N Nook     Kobo

Amazon Paperback     B&N Paperback

STILL LIFE IN BRUNSWICK STEW:

Amazon Kindle  B&N Nook              Kobo

Amazon Paperback    Barnes&Noble Paperback

<a id=”rc-9d173921″ href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9d173921/” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

<script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js“></script>

http://www.clpblogtours.com/2013/09/hijack-in-abstract-by-larissa-reinhart.html

And make sure to check out the rest of her tour. Here’s the schedule.

November 4 – Mary Castillo – Q&A

November 5 – The Book Bag – Review & Excerpt

November 6 – Ink and Paper – Q&A & Excerpt

November 8 – Shelf Pleasure – Q&A

November 11 – Keep Calm and Blog On – Review

November 12 – Mrs. Mommy Booknerd’s Book Reviews – Q&A & Excerpt

November 14 – Tlassy – Review

November 15 – Musings and Ramblings – Review, Q&A & Excerpt

November 18 – Melissa’s Mochas, Mysteries and More – Excerpt

November 19 – Chick Lit Plus – Review

November 22- Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review, Q&A  & Excerpt

November 25 – Everything Books and Authors – Excerpt

 

Get Hijack in Abstract here: <a href=”http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781938383724?aff=KaraSkinner”>http://www.indiebound.org/book/</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “Hijack in Abstract: Interview with Larissa Reinhart

  1. Thanks for having me on Kara! So glad you liked Hijack!

  2. karaskinner says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Larissa! I can’t wait to read more Cherry Tucker mysteries!

  3. Thank you! I’m working on #4 right now. Hopefully it will be out in June!

Leave a Reply

