The Motorcade Thief

Alana surfaced with a gasp. It wouldn’t be long before the authorities would fish the car out of the water and she had to be long gone by then. She didn’t have time to cut through red tape, not with Jimena and Melantho out there. Uno surfaced beside her, coughing and hacking. He glared at her. “Next time… use a pay phone.”

Alana simply grinned. “Come on. You have to admit that was fun!”

Uno muttered something unintelligible and grabbed Alana’s arm. A second later they were out of the Gulf and in some grassy field. Uno shook water from his hair and shed his leather jacket while Alana swept her own hair into a ponytail, still grinning from a major adrenaline high. “Where are the others?”

“At a crappy motel in Maine, where else? Please tell me you found something useful. I don’t want to save your ass for nothing.”

“Okay, first of all, you didn’t save me. Nobody saves me ‘cus I take care of myself. And yeah, I know where Mark and Tom are. So we can either sit in a cow field or we can go join the others and make a plan. Dumb ass.”

Uno shook his head. “You really don’t know these people, Alana. They’re not like anyone you’ve ever faced before.”

Alana cocked her head to one side, eyebrows raised. “In case you forgot, Uno, I’ve made the devil cry. I think I can handle Jack the Ripper and the other crackpots. Let’s. Go.”

2 thoughts on “The Motorcade Thief

  1. Stacey James says:

    This idea sounds like mischief! I live in Maine- lots of crappy hotels, but you will be hard pressed to find any pay phones, they are as common as dinosaurs up here:) I like the strong female character, good description. Are you going to make this into a book?

    • karaskinner says:

      Yeah, Alana is the main character in a novel I’m working on.And she’s very mischievous! And I’ve seen some payphones in Maine.You’re right, there aren’t that many, but there are quite a few in malls and the airports.

Leave a Reply

